Depending on the set mode of the shared Session, participants can move freely in the Session or are guided through it by the host. Accordingly, elements of the Workspace are synchronized according to certain rules. It also ensures that changes cannot be made to the same content by different people at the same time.
What does synchronization mean?
Synchronized elements are called up or are displayed on the Workspace of all participating devices in a shared Session, or updated to the same status. Content such as Notes and Sheets as well as display and navigation operations such as a Phase Switch or the play-back of videos can be synchronized for all participants.
Synchronized content or elements behave as follows on the Workspace of all participants:
- are moved along
- are changed
- are scaled
- are newly created
- are deleted
- are started (for example a video)
- are opened (for example Inbox or Tray)
as soon as they are edited by one participant.
What is being synced?
Which elements (content or display and navigation processes) are synchronized and which are not depends on the respective Session mode:
No one other than you can access the Session. This means that content is not synchronized unless your Session is open in several tabs or browser windows.
- "Moderated Session"
- "Free edit"
All participants can work on content independently. All functions can be used independently of one another, only the content (Notes and Sheets) is synchronized. The following will also be synchronized if you are on the same Phase:
- Open / close the Inbox and the Tray
- Full screen mode of content
- Laser pointer
Blocking of synchronized content
Contents such as Notes and Sheets that are currently being edited by one person - i.e. being synchronized - are blocked for all other participants. This state is indicated by a small lock symbol. This prevents simultaneous editing and thus overwriting. After the content has been changed, all participants can access it again.